underground thoughts
Nathan Reagan’s thoughts from the Subways of NYC

Homemade Vegan Dinner

–10:43pm Uptown M15 Bus–
I am lucky to have a boyfriend who values quality time. There are a few times when it’s not fun, like when he gets “worked up” (he hates it when I say upset) that I am eating to fast and not paying attention to him during our dinner conversation.  But overall it has been a tremendous bonus. Tired of eating out all the time he has been wanting to make dinner together for a quiet evening in.

So this evening we did. Darren loves it when I plan things ahead so I rushed to the health food store to get Tofuti cream cheese and soy butter, and soy chicken. I wish I had a camera for the happy look on his face when he asked me, “Do you already know what your doing to make?” and I answered, “of course!”

I made a Vegan Alfredo cream sauce (without a recipe! woot woot) and drizzled it over whole wheat pasta with grilled asparagus and red peppers. Darren made aweseom garlic bread and set the table. So before I forget how I made it I thought I should jot it down.

–Nathan’s Vegan Alfredo Sauce–

In a saucepan saute a large scallion and three cloves of minced garlic in 2 tablespoons of olive oil and a few table spoons of vegan butter. The longer the better. Saute till dark brown. Add an 8 oz container of Tofuti cream cheese.  Add 8-12oz. of a spaghetti sauce of your choice.  Add water to get to the right consistency. And add pepper and basil to taste. (I added a little bit of flour because I added to much water and it turned out really well, so I may to that on purpose next time.)

Grill asparagus for about five minutes in olive oil, minced garlic and chopped scallion. After about five minutes add the sliced bell pepper. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Grill two vegan chicken breasts.

Put the whole wheat pasts on the plate then add a layer of the sauted vegetable. Slice the breast into vertical strips and place ontop of the veggies, then cover in the alfredo sauce.

3 Responses to “Homemade Vegan Dinner”

  1. Great pictures, your food looks great, but I can tell it really is you writing, the spelling tipped me off.

    Did you see uncle pats blog also?

    Love dad.

  2. well dad, I wonder who I got it from? and i don’t care if you can do more push-ups my chest still looks better! ha!

  3. dang that looks so good. i’m hungery now and i just ate! sorry if my message looks wierd i’m on the Wii


Leave a Reply

